Please Wait

Please Wait

Three Passes Trek

The Three Passes Trek to Everest Base Camp is probably Nepal’s most complete trek as it covers most of the Everest area along its circular path. The trek is more difficult than the traditional Everest Base Camp Trek and its other variants because it includes crossing the three high passes that lend its name to the trek–Renjo La, Cho La and Kongma La–over 5,000 m each.

The trek starts at Lukla’s popular starting point before heading north along Namche Bazaar’s classic trek. There, the road veers west as it separates from the main trek and climbs up the Dudh Koshi River, where you will find the first of the Three Passes – Renjo La (5,370 m). The path descends to the idyllic Gokyo Lakes after reaching the high point and then to the village of Gokyo.

The road then turns east when you cross the second pass named Cho La Pass (5,420 m) to get to Everest Base Camp. Once you ascend the famous viewpoint of Kala Patthar, after the second pass you will have the opportunity to explore the intricacies of Everest Base Camp life as well as soaking up some of the best views of Everest and its surrounding peaks.

The trek’s inward leg includes reaching the Three Passes finals – Kongma La Pass (5545 m) – to reach the iconic Everest Base Camp Trek route that will take you down to Lukla, where the trek finishes.


Day 1: Arrive in Kathmandu

Day 2: Fly from Kathmandu to Lukla. Trek to Pkadking

Day 3: Trek to Namche Bazaar

Day 4: Acclimatisation Day

Day 5: Namche to Thame

Day 6: Thame to Lumde

Day 7: Lumde over Renjo La to Gokyo

Day 8: Gokyo Ri (Acclimatisation Day)

Day 9: Gokyo to Thaknak

Day 10: Over Cho La to Zungla

Day 11: Zungla to Gorak Shep

Day 12: Gorak Shep to EBC and back

Day 13: Kala Patthar hike and then onto Lobuche

Day 14: Kongma La Pass and onto Chukkung

Day 15: Chukkung Ri and then to Dingboche

Day 16: Dingboche to Namche Bazaar

Day 17: Namche to Phakding

Day 18: Phakding to Lukla

Day 19: Fly back from Lukla to Kathmandu

Day 20: Depart Nepal