Please Wait

Please Wait

Gaurishankar Conservation Area

The Gaurshankhar Conservation Area was established in January 2010. It covers an area of 2,179 square kilometers. The conservation area includes 3 district villages that are Ramechhap, Dolakha, and Sindhupalchok and also 22 village committees. The national park is connected to two other national parks that are Langtang national park and Sagarmatha national park. The conservation area has 16 major types of vegetation such as Pinus roxburghii forest, Schima-Castanopsis forest, Alnus forest, Pinus wallichiana forest, Pinus patula forest, Rhododendron forest, Quercus lanata forest, Lower temperate oak forest, Lower temperate mixed broad-leaved forest, Abies forest, Upper temperate mixed forest , Temperate mountain oak forest, East Himalayan Oak forest, Juniperus forest, Shrubland and Moist alpine scrubs. The conservation area is rich in water resources also. The national park is the water source of Khimti, Bhotekoshi, Sunkoshi, and Tamakoshi rivers. The rivers help some countries for their hydropower project. Almost 2.77 % of the conservation area is covered with glaciers.

Gaurishankar Conservation Area, Dolakha

Nepal Reopens For Tourism On August 17 2020

As of August 17th, 2020 the following businesses will resume operations

International flights

Hotels and accommodation facilities

Tourism related activities


Trekking and climbing permits

Need help planning your travel to Nepal? Feel free to contact us.